" "
ISDE 2019 Australia team changes – Matthew Phillips joins the Trophy Team

Matthew Phillips back on the world stage after call-up to Australian World Trophy Team at FIM International Six Days Enduro 2019.


Just weeks before the 94th International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) in Portugal, Motorcycling Australia has announced Matthew Phillips will join the World Trophy Team as Wil Ruprecht withdraws and Fraser Higlett steps sideways into the Junior Trophy Team.

Four-time Enduro World Champion Matthew Phillips will make a return to the ISDE after Motorcycling Australia was forced to make a further adjustment to the World and Junior Trophy Teams – earlier this year Daniel Milner withdrew. 

Wil Ruprecht is the rider withdrawing at this late stage and it is understood the EnduroGP Junior title contender has been suffering with a long standing virus. That has led Motorcycling Australia to switch Fraser Higlett back into the Aussie Junior Team in Ruprecht’s place and bring in Phillips to the Trophy squad. 

After returning to competition in the Australian Off-Road Championship competing in E1 and E2 in various events this year, Phillips will join Joshua Green, Daniel Sanders and Luke Styke in their defence of the World Trophy crown they took in Chile 2018. 

“I am very excited to get the call up after a tough year with injury, with this being my seventh ISDE.” Explains Phillips. “It’s came at the just the right time to get a jump start on some training ready for a big off-season.” 

“I would like to think I have a lot to offer the team in experience and to be a great mentor to our younger riders. I am especially looking forward to being able to help out. My riding is on the improve every day and I hope to be a valuable team member on the scoreboard as well.”

The Australian riders will head to Portugal during October in order to prepare for the event in Portimao, November 11 - 16.


2019 Australian World Trophy Team:

Joshua Green

Matthew Phillips

Daniel Sanders

Luke Styke


2019 Australian Women’s World Trophy Team:

Jessica Gardiner

Tayla Jones

Mackenzie Tricker


2019 Australian Junior World Trophy Team:

Michael Driscoll

Fraser Higlett

Lyndon Snodgrass


Team Manager:

Don Atkins


More information: www.ma.org.au 

Photo Credit: John Pearson + Future7Media/Andrea Belluschi
igor aguada bio resized
Igor Aguado
Enduro21 Junior Editor