" "
Video: Hixpania Hard Enduro – Jarvis and Roman heading WESS round 4 contenders 

Hixpania Hard Enduro, World Enduro Super Series round four arrives this coming weekend in Spain – Graham Jarvis and Mario Roman leading the way as the 2019 season reaches its midway point.


The World Enduro Super Series marches on to Spain for the Hixpania Hard Enduro on June 21–23. The three-day hard enduro runs in the north of Spain with a Medieval theme to the town’s prologue ahead of two days hard riding out in the countryside.

Manuel Lettenbichler leads the WESS points after three rounds from Mario Roman, Graham Jarvis and Josep García. Lettenbichler is yet to score his first WESS win while Roman, Jarvis and Alfredo Gomez are each former winners at Hixpania. 

Lettenbichler is the third rider to sit at the top of the standings so far in 2019 and has been a model of consistency, claiming podium results at rounds one and three while also taking a top-15 result at the Trèfle Lozérien. The 21-year-old privateer has already stated he's aiming for nothing short of that top step in round four.

Hixpania Preview Roman 2019 WESS 560

Sitting second overall in the championship chase, Sherco Factory Racing’s Mario Roman. Victor of round one in Portugal, Roman has been on flying form in the series’ Hard Enduro races, also claiming a podium result at the Erzbergrodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble. Winner of the Hixpania Hard Enduro in 2018, the Spaniard starts as one of the favourites in the form of his life on home soil.

Graham Jarvis moved to third overall in the standings sfter his historic win at Erzbergrodeo. Just 270 points behind Lettenbichler, the British rider won the Hixpania Hard Enduro outright in 2017 and the final day of competition in 2018 so carries strong form to this event.

Josep Garcia sits 25 points behind Jarvis in the WEsS standings and will be determined on home soil – despite this being another hard enduro round and out of his comfort zone. Hixpania Hard Enduro will be more favourable to his skill se however.

Hixpania Preview 2019 prologue WESS 560

The inaugural winner of Hixpania Hard Enduro, Alfredo Gomez will also be eyeing up the top of the podium. The Spaniard thrives on home support and will aim to make up for disappointing rounds one and two.

Yet to truly make their mark on the 2019 series, Jonny Walker, Billy Bolt and Taddy Blazusiak are all in contention for a winning result at Hixpania. With the championship reaching the halfway point and all three riders yet to visit the podium this year, this weekend will be a make or break event if they are serious about taking this year’s title.

Other riders to look out for include another Spaniard hoping for local support, Pol Tarres as well as Travis Teasdale who arrives off the back of a 10th place ride at round three in Austria.

Hixpania Preview 2019 landescape WESS 560

Hixpania Hard Enduro fast facts:

350: Competitors entered for fourth edition of Hixpania Hard Enduro

190: Manuel Lettenbichler holds a 190-point lead over Mario Roman

50: Length in kilometres of Saturday’s Campoo X-treme course

3: Number of past winners of Hixpania Hard Enduro


2019 Hixpania Hard Enduro schedule:

June 20: Hixpania Village opens

June 21: SuperEncierro Prologue 17.00h - 20.30h

June 22: Campoo X-treme

June 23: MITAS El Camino Perdido 11.00h - 14.15h


2018 Hixpania Hard Enduro podium:

Mario Roman (Sherco) 

Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna)  

Alfredo Gomez (Husqvarna)


Hixpania Hard Enduro past winners:

2018: Mario Roman (Sherco)

2017: Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna)

2016: Alfredo Gomez (KTM)


World Enduro Super Series standings (after round 3 of 8):

  1. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM - GER) 1960 points
  2. Mario Roman (Sherco - ESP) 1770 pts
  3. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna - GBR) 1690 pts
  4. Josep Garcia (KTM - ESP) 1665 pts
  5. Jonny Walker (KTM - GBR) 1520 pts
  6. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna - GBR) 1465 pts
  7. Alfredo Gomez (Husqvarna - ESP) 1464 pts
  8. Wade Young (Sherco - RSA) 1460 pts
  9. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM - POL) 1370 pts
  10. Nathan Watson (KTM - GBR) 1271 pts


Photo credit: Future7Media/Irina Gorodnyakova
Byline jp ISDE 2018 Enduro21
Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester