Blazusiak takes the win at Hungarian SuperEnduro

With the three usual suspects of Cody Webb, Taddy Blazusiak and Colton Haaker once again fighting for FIM SuperEnduro World Championship glory, it was the turn of six-time world champion Blazusiak to take the honours in Budapest.

Prestige Class - Close racing from the three world champions

The fast and flowing track laid out in the Papp Laszlo Sportarena, although short, proved to be a serious test for all competitors. With Colton Haaker leading the standings, and Cody Webb and Taddy Blazusiak second and third respectively,  the KTM pair knew they would have to fight hard to claw back valuable championship points. Visiting Hungary for the first time, the three-race SuperEnduro event produced some exceptionally close racing with the Factory KTM teammates ultimately taking the top two podium positions and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Haaker placing third.

Once again, the Prestige category saw three absolutely superb races full of suspense and exciting action. To top it off, for the first time this season, each race was won by a different rider.

Things didn’t get off to a great start for the championship leader, who stalled his bike during the Akrapovic SuperPole at the start of the night. Then, as the gate dropped for the first race, he lost some positions, with Webb and Blazusiak pulling away into the distance.


cody.webb SuperEnduro 2019 Rnd 4 2837 2


However, Blazusiak, struggling with his injured knee, soon found Haaker closing in on him. The pair had an exciting duel until the flag, but the Husqvarna rider could only manage third as he failed to pass a flagging Blazusiak. The pair had no answer for Cody Webb who put in a smooth performance to take a comfortable flag-to-flag win.

It was all change for Race two - the reverse grid race. A clever grid selection on the second row saw Haaker in prime position at the first corner. And although his team-mate Alfredo Gomez took the holeshot, Haaker was soon into the lead.

Caught up in the first corner melee, Webb tumbled to ninth place and was forced to work extremely hard to get himself back into a podium spot, he managed a vital third at the flag. Blazusiak, meanwhile, closed in on Haaker but had to settle for second place as physical struggles prevented him from catching the flying American.

The last race was just as spectacular as the previous two, but this time it was the Polish legend who charged to an emphatic victory. The three biggest stars in the FIM SuperEnduro World Championship proceeded to have a spectacularly tense fight. As Webb attempted to pass Haaker, and Haaker in turn tried to pass Blazusiak there were several near misses.

It was a case of who would crack first, and that turned out to be Cody Webb, as he made a mistake in the rock section. The factory KTM rider dropped off the back of the Blazusiak/Haaker battle.

Until the final seconds of the race, Husqvarna-mounted Haaker fought tooth-and-nail to pass the KTM rider. But the comeback king proved to be unfazed by the pressure being exerted on him, and pulled off a race victory race and therefore the overall win on the night. Webb grabbed second overall, and Haaker third.

This result means the final round in Bilbao will be incredibly exciting as Colton Haaker will have to fiercely defend his championship lead, he leaves Hungary just 12 points ahead of Cody Webb in the standings.

taddy.blazusiak SuperEnduro 2019 Rnd 4 3650 2


Junior Class - William Hoare crowned 2019 Champion with one round spare

William Hoare has been superb throughout the 2019 season. The Brit has won nine races out of 12, and has remained virtually unchallenged from the first gate drop back in Poland in early December. Arriving in Budapest, he had to score 18 points more than Tim Apolle to be Champion.

Despite stating that he would ride ‘carefully and steadily, without pushing for the title’ he couldn’t resist putting himself in a position to win all three races in Hungary. An absolutely flawless performance in Race One saw him disappear ahead of Norbert Jozsa and Teodor Kabachiev.

podium.junior SuperEnduro 2019 Rnd 4 3337 2

In Race Two the young Brit won by 16.8 seconds over Leon Hentschel and Adrien Jacon. And in the final outing of the night, Dominik Olszowy and Tim Apolle joined an unstoppable Will Hoare on the podium. After his superb display, the 20-year-old from Yorkshire in the UK topped the podium and took his much-deserved title. Joining him on the overall podium were Tim Apolle and an ever-improving Enrico Rinaldi.

The last time a rider won the title a full round before the end of the season was in 2014, when Giacomo Redondi took the Junior crown.


European Cup: Knight Takes Victory.

In the European Cup, Tom Knight finished third in the first race behind Robert Scharl and Thomas Hostinsky. But in the second race, Knight went all out to take the overall win in front of Paul Bury and Hostinsky. Scharl is still leading the championship by 10 points over Knight, and 12 ahead of Hostinsky.

tom.knight SuperEnduro 2019 Rnd 4 0905 2


Results – FIM SuperEnduro World Championship Round 4 – Budapest, Hungary

Prestige class:

Heat 1: 1. Cody WEBB ; 2. Taddy BLAZUSIAK ; 3. Colton HAAKER ; 4. Alfredo GOMEZ ; 5. Pol TARRES ; 6. Blake GUTZEIT ; 7. Diogo VIEIRA ; 8. Xavi LEON SOLE ; 9. Cristobal GUERRERO ; 10. Jose Maria JUAN BERNABEU…

Heat 2: 1. Colton HAAKER ; 2. Taddy BLAZUSIAK ; 3. Cody WEBB ; 4. Alfredo GOMEZ ; 5. Pol TARRES ; 6. Blake GUTZEIT ; 7. Diogo VIEIRA ; 8. Cristobal GUERRERO ; 9. Xavi LEON SOLE ; 10. Kevin GALLAS…

Heat 3: 1. Taddy BLAZUSIAK ; 2. Colton HAAKER ; 3. Cody WEBB ; 4. Alfredo GOMEZ ; 5. Diogo VIEIRA ; 6. Pol TARRES ; 7. Blake GUTZEIT ; 8. Xavi LEON SOLE ; 9. Cristobal GUERRERO ; 10. David LEONOV…

Super Pole Akrapovic: 1. Cody WEBB; 2. Taddy BLAZUSIAK; 3. Pol TARRES…

Provisional classification: 1. Colton HAAKER 211pts ; 2. Cody WEBB 199pts ; 3. Taddy BLAZUSIAK 184pts ; 4. Pol TARRES 122pts ; 5. Alfredo GOMEZ 119pts. 6. Diogo VIEIRA 103pts ; 7. Blake GUTZEIT 100pts ; 8. Kevin GALLAS 89pts ; 9. Xavi LEON SOLE 79pts ; 10. Cristobal GUERRERO 74pts…

Junior Class:

Heat 1: 1. William HOARE ; 2. Norbert JOSZA LEVENTE ; 3. Teodor KABAKCHIEV ; 4. Tim APOLLE ; 5. Norbert ZSIGOVITS; 6. Enrico RINALDI; 7. David CYPRIAN ; 8. Adrien JACON ; 9. Diego HERRERA ; 10. Dominik OLSZOWY…

Heat 2: 1. William HOARE ; 2. Leon HENTSCHEL ; 3. Adrien JACON ; 4. Enrico RINALDI ; 5. Tim APOLLE; 6. Diego HERRERA ; 7. Norbert ZSIGOVITS ; 8. Dominik OLSZOWY ; 9. Norbert Levente JOZSA ; 10. Andris GRINFELDS…

Heat 3: 1. William HOARE ; 2. Dominik OLSZOWY ; 3. Tim APOLLE ; 4. Enrico RINALDI ; 5. Adrien JACON ; 6. Teodor KABAKCHIEV ; 7. Diego HERRERA ; 8. David CYPRIAN ; 9. Norbert ZSIGOVITS ; 10. Nobert Levente JOZSA…

Provisional classification : 1. William HOARE 227pts ; 2. Tim APOLLE 163pts ; 3. David CYPRIAN 134pts ; 4. Leon HENTSCHEL 118pts ; 5. Norbert JOSZA LEVENTE 114pts ; 6. Diego HERRERA 109pts ; 7. Dominik OLSZOWY 94pts ; 8. Teodor KABAKCHIEV 93pts ; 9. Enrico RINALDI 76pts ; 10. Adrien JACON 62pts…

European Cup:

Heat 1: 1. Robert SCHARL; 2. Thomas HOSTINSKY; 3. Tom KNIGHT; 4. John NYSTROM; 5. Thomas SCHLEY; 6. Paul BURY; 7. Jan GASIENICA DANIEL; 8. Michele BOSI; 9. Marcel TEUCHER; 10; Mariusz STEFANIAK…

Heat 2: 1. Tom KNIGHT; 2. Paul BURY; 3. Thomas HOSTINSKY; 4. John NYSTROM; 5. Robert SCHARL; 6. Marcel TEUCHER; 7. Thomas SCHLEY; 8. Michele BOSI; 9. Eddie FINDLING; 10. Jan GASIENICA DANIEL…

Provisional classification: 1. Thomas SCHARL 68pts; 2. Tom KNIGHT 58pts; 3. Thomas HOSTINSKY 56; 4. Paul BURY 54pts; 5. John NYSTROM 45pts; 6. Mariusz STEFANIAK 25pts; 7. Marco MESSNER 24pts; 8. Thomas SCHLEY 19pts; 9. Jan GASIENICA DANIEL 19pts; 10. Gavin HOUSON 18pts…


Photo Credit: Future7Media/Andrea Belluschi/Robert Lynn